Posted on

The Creative Europe-supported SHAPE platform for innovative music and audiovisual art is announcing its 2016 list of artists. The artist selection for the platform’s second year traditionally places a diverse selection of audiovisual projects and sound artists alongside musical acts that range from post-grime and techno to free improvisation and experiments with field recordings.

Each year, the curatorial teams of all 16 SHAPE festivals and initiatives come together and choose 48 artists. The artist roster has been created disregarding divisions of genre, age or popularity. Rather, creative novelty and successful experimentation have served as core values, with additional emphasis on the inclusion of upcoming and underexposed artists as well as representing local scenes of involved festivals and art centers.

Musically, the SHAPE artist roster of 2016 is no less diverse than that of the previous year: you can find the Polish synthesizer musician Piotr Kurek and his dancefloor-oriented project Heroiny next to Viennese bass clarinetist Susanna Gartmayer or the Brussels-based industrial techno duo Orphan Swords next to Norwegian vocalist and composer Stine Janvin Motland. This eclecticism is, first and foremost, a result of the diverse interests of involved festivals drawn together. In addition to that, a more deliberate desire to detect streams of fresh ideas and unexpected influences beyond genre categories has influenced the choices of SHAPE’s curators.

Susanna Gartmayer

Despite a general interest to work with emergent artists, links to well-known independent music labels can be observed: the new roster includes Swedish electronic music composer Klara Lewis, whose debut album “Ett” was published by Editions Mego, Berlin-based producer M.E.S.H. whose first full-length of abstract grime “Piteous Gate” was published by PAN, the Warp-signed Jackson and Killing Sound, a quartet of British producers – all part of the Young Echo family – whose first two recordings have been put out by Blackest Ever Black.

A similarly kaleidoscopic view characterizes the audiovisual and sound-art oriented part of the roster: the rugged resourcefulness of, for instance, Slovak artist Jonáš Gruska, who utilizes industrial objects in his site-specific sound installations, is contrasted by the nuanced aesthetics of Clock DVA member TeZ, whose minimalistic a/v piece „PV 868” uses flickering monochrome lights in order to allow a peculiar effect of moving visual patterns to emerge directly in the brain of the viewer, while the duo of Gas of Latvia and Katrīna Neiburga present a dream-like blend of ambient music and cinematic projections.

Peder Mannerfelt

The first SHAPE showcase of 2016 will occur at Berlin’s CTM festival (29.01.2016 – 07.02.2016), featuring Peder Mannerfelt, KABLAM, Charlotte Bendiks and T’ien Lai as well as SHAPE 2015 alumni Aisha Devi and Borusiade.

On February, the 4th, the free entry Collaborative Network Meet & Greet at CTM 2016 will provide a chance to learn about and exchange with various projects that CTM is involved in, including SHAPE. SHAPE representative Lucia Udvardyova will speak with 2015 alumnus Marco Donnarumma about his experiences and tips for emerging artists wishing to get involved. Click here for more info.

Full list of SHAPE artists for 2016

9th cloud & Cyril Meroni (FR)
Andi Stecher (AT)
AntiVJ (INT)
Buster Keaton (HU)
Charlotte Bendiks (NO)
Gil Delindro (PT/DE)
Erased Bodies (IT)
Gas of Latvia & Katrīna Neiburga (LV)
Heewon Lee (KR/FR)
Hyperaktivist (VE/DE)
Ignatz (BE)
iii  (INT)
Jackson (FR)
Jakob Schneidewind (with projects Monochord or Demi Broxa) (AT)
Jonáš Gruska (SK)
Julien Bayle (FR)
Killing Sound (UK)
Klara Lewis (SE)
Stara Rzeka (also with Kapital, T’ien Lai and other projects) (PL)
Lanuk (HU)
Laura Luna (MX/CZ)
Lawrence Le Doux (BE)
L’Ocelle Mare (FR)
M.E.S.H. (DE)
Mari Kvien Brunvoll (NO)
Marta Heberle (PL)
Masayoshi Fujita (JP)
Nicolas Maigret (FR)
Nik Nowak (also with project Schockglatze) (DE)
Nonotak (FR/JP)
Orphan Swords (BE)
Orson Hentschel (DE)
Peder Mannerfelt (SE)
Piotr Kurek (also with project Heroiny) (PL)
Voiski/Polar Inertia (FR)
Primitive Art (IT)
Raze de Soare (RO)
Spatial (UK)
Stine Janvin Motland (NO)
Susanna Gartmayer (also with projects Möström or Bödenauer/Gartmayer duo) (AT)
Syracuse (FR)
TeZ (IT)
We Will Fail (PL)
Wo0 & Incredible Bob (RS)

Link Facebook Twitter Linkedin Pinterest Mail
Next article
Stream excerpts of SHAPE performances from musikprotokoll